Chicken Liver Paté

I’ve come to believe that the appeal of chicken livers lies deep in the psychic memory of one’s childhood. Either you dreaded being forced to eat them and they conjure memories of sitting in the dark at the table until the last bite was choked back, or, if you’re like me, your mouth waters with the scent-memory of onions sizzling in butter.

If your situation is the former, I encourage you to take another dip in the liver pool. (Sorry! I couldn’t resist!) I made this recipe for a lunch party and as promised, ladies, here is the recipe. Its easy and good for days spread on thinly sliced and toasted italian or french bread.

Chicken Liver Paté
4 T unsalted butter
3/4 cup finely chopped onion
6 chicken livers (the ones I bought came in a pint container. I used them all, drained, rinsed and patted dry with paper towel.) 
6 oz dry white wine 
4 oz good chicken stock
1 T tomato paste
1 anchovy fillet, finely chopped
2 T capers, finely chopped
1 sprig fresh thyme
salt & pepper

Italian bread, thinly sliced and toasted

1. In a large sauté pan, melt the butter over medium heat. Add the onions and sweat until just transparent, about 5 minutes.

2. Add the chicken livers and sear until lightly browned. Try to keep the livers in a single layer on the bottom of the pan.

3. Add the wine and cook until it reduces to being almost dry in the pan.

4. Add the chicken stock, tomato paste, anchovy, capers and thyme. Simmer uncovered for 15 minutes.

5. Use a slotted spoon to move the chicken livers into the bowl of your food processor. Add about a half cup of the juice from the pan and pulse until smooth, adding liquid in small increments as necessary to get to the desired consistency…like peanut butter. (*optional, add a tablespoon or two of cognac or brandy at this point.)

6. Taste and add salt and pepper to your liking.

7. Refrigerate until cold. Serve with toast.

8. Use fancy Italian name to impress guests: Crostini di Fegatini.

4 responses to “Chicken Liver Paté

  1. I love chicken liver pate, but I always want something to cut the richness, some vinegary-green. Thanks for your awesome comment. It is great to see an interest in the issues.

    • thegourmandandthepeasant

      I was actually thinking that next time, I’d slice seedless cucumber on the bias and lay it on the bread before adding the chicken paté. Or maybe a few slices of radish.

  2. Thanks for the recipe. Just made your meatloaf recipe on Sunday evening – my 14 year old son has now pronounced that meatloaf is his new favorite food!

    • thegourmandandthepeasant

      Hooray! I’ve pleased a 14 year-old palate! Not an easy task to be sure! I used to cook for my students and most times they’d say “ewww! Who eats THAT??” and I would end up eating my hummus and taboule all alone. Also did the recipe work out all right for you? Let me know if there were any unclear parts so I can fix. Talk to you again soon!

Leave a Reply

